To Bee or Not to Bee

My last post was about holes being cut into my wisteria plant. It turned out that leaf-cutter bees were using my wisteria as nesting material. Guess where one of them is nesting…

That’s right, one of my wind chimes. I watched her for a while, going into the bottom of each chime, stuffing something in there and then flying off.

I am not sure quite what to do. The chime is up under the porch and I am not sure I want any bees on my porch but from what I read leaf-cutter bees are pretty harmless. They live alone, no big hive.

The leafcutter bee is a productive pollinator for summer gardens. The female carries pollen on the underside of her hairy abdomen, and then scrapes the pollen off within her nesting hole. Because the pollen is carried dry on her hair, it falls off easily as she moves among blossoms. Unlike the honey bee, who wets the pollen so it sticks to the legs during transport to the hive.

To learn more about leaf cutter bees see http://permaculturenews.org/2014/09/02/lets-invite-leaf-cutter-bees-gardens/

~ by Meg on June 14, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
