Hummingbirds after the Rain

I think the hummingbird above might be a broad-billed, I know the photo is really bad but if you look closely the birds beak looks red, like a broad-billed. I guess white-eared hummers have a red beak too but they are very rare in these parts. Anyway what ever it is, it is something I don’t see much, a hummer with a red beak.

I think the female shown above is an anna’s, they are the most common in our yard. This little gal was quite hungry, she visited the feeder several times.

I think the female shown above is an anna’s or maybe a black-chinned. I have a hard time telling them apart.

I think the bird above is a rufous, they pass through in the spring and fall.

I don’t know why but I seem to have the hardest time trying to figure out which hummer is which, they all look so much the same to me, though different. When I try to look them up I can not figure out what the defining factors are. Maybe someone passing by here reading can give me some tips. :)

~ by Meg on August 20, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
