Stuffed Bell Peppers

This is a simple recipe like my mom used to make.

Slice and seed four bell peppers, (I used green but you can use any color you like)

I also cut an X at the bottom to let the juice run out when they are cooking so they don’t get soggy.

One pound of raw ground meat (I used beef)

one half to one medium onion chopped

Mix in 1 1/2 cups cooked rice (I used brown rice)

Most of a 15 ounce can of tomato sauce (Save a little to drizzle on top)

Sometimes I toss a raw egg in here just to stick everything together.

Above is the filling all mixed up. Each time I make these I try to use a spoon to mix it up but always end up using my hand instead, it is so much easier. I don’t use added salt since the tomato sauce has salt in it already but you could add whatever spices you like.

Fill the halved peppers with the meat mixture.

Top with a little tomato sauce. Bake at 350 for an hour to an hour and a half.

You can check the eternal temp with a meat thermometer. It should read about 160.

Here they are HOT and ready to eat. Baking for an hour or more allows the pepper to get soft and nicely cooked while the meat cooks thoroughly as well.

Recipe:
4 bell peppers
1 pound ground meat
1 to 2 cups cooked rice
1/2 to one cup chopped onion
1 15 ounce can of tomato sauce
spices to taste

Bake at 350 for an hour to hour and a half.

I am thinking of making these and adding a little worcestershire sauce and mushrooms into the meat mixture then topping off the final product with grilled onions and swiss cheese someday. I think they would be delicious.

~ by Meg on October 2, 2013.

2 Responses to “Stuffed Bell Peppers”

  1. Yum, that brings back some memories of the ones my mom used to make.

Leave a Reply

 
