Floss Silk Tree

I saw this beautiful tree in the Los Angles area, when I got up closer to it to take some photos I heard chirping sounds that sounded very much like hummingbirds. Up in the top of the tree, too far for my camera to catch I could see quite a few hummingbirds buzzing around like bees.

Here is a close up of the beautiful flowers. When I got back home to Tucson I just had to figure out what it was and if it was possible to grow one here and sure enough, they have one at the University of Arizona http://arboretum.arizona.edu/autumn (chorisia speciosa) . I wonder if they would share some seeds. :)

If there is anyone out there reading this post in the Tucson Arizona area that has one of these tree, please let me know. I would love to try to grow one from seed or maybe a cutting. Also if anyone knows were to buy one locally let me know that too.

~ by Meg on August 22, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
