So here is a test

The other day I set up a borrowed game cam at the hummingbird feeder, to see if it would pick up birds at the feeder, in hopes it will pick up bats at the feeder when they arrive.  So far I have captured a gila woodpecker.

And a hummingbird, it seems sensitive enough but in additional test, no birds showed up in the photos, even though I saw birds on the feeder. I think these were just lucky captures due to the feeder swinging in the wind setting off the camera, not the bird setting off the camera. I have reset the gamecam on the highest sensitivity, to see if that makes any difference in photos.

The nectar bats (lesser long nosed bats) don’t usually show up until the beginning of September. I don’t know if they will set off the gamecam or not. If I can get it set for a bird to make it snap a photo it should be good for bats. Lesser long nosed bats are larger than hummingbirds so I am hopeful.

~ by Meg on July 25, 2011.

Leave a comment