Giant Tomato Hornworm

We found this enormous hornworm on our tomato plant last evening. It is the biggest one we have ever found.

~ by Meg on August 10, 2012.

6 Responses to “Giant Tomato Hornworm”

  1. I love being able to find them this big…it’s not everyday you get to see giant caterpillar! Wish they weren’t so destructive.

    • They are destructive, big eaters but still there is something very interesting about them.

      • Definitely! After last year, I’ve kinda had more of a soft spot for them. I think I had 15-20 at one point and I could sit on my balcony and watch the wasps and wrens come hunting for them. I would go out and count them everyday…by the end only one may have survived. They don’t have much of a chance!

  2. Wow! I’ve seen much smaller ones but never anything like that! Great shot!

    • We should have been checking the plant better I guess. This is the biggest hornworm we have ever found on our plants.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 389 other followers

